In-Text CitationsWorks Cited
In-Text CitationsReferences
Author-Date (Reference List) StyleHumanities (Bibliography) Style
This is the "Home" page of the "Cite Your Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us

Cite Your Sources   Tags: bibliography, citation, citing_sources, reference_list  

Last Updated: Nov 19, 2013 URL: http://libguides.oc.edu/citeyoursources Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

This LibGuide was designed to provide you with assistance in citing your sources when writing a paper.

There are different styles which format the information differently, so select the tab for the style you need and take a look at some examples.

Need some extra help?

Check out this tutorial for the Beam Library:

 

Copyright

Adapted from a LibGuide created by Scott Pfitzinger, Information Commons & Technology Librarian at Butler University, Indianapolis, IN. Other users of LibGuides are welcome to use this Guide as a template and to make changes as necessary to fit their custom needs.

 

Research Papers

"The purpose of a research paper is to synthesize previous research and scholarship with your ideas on the subject. Therefore, you should feel free to use other persons' words, facts, and thoughts in your research paper, but the material you borrow must not be presented as if it were your own creation."

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th Edition. New York: MLA. 55. Print.

 

Overview

There are quite a few different ways to cite resources in your paper. The citation style usually depends on the academic discipline involved. For example:

  • MLA style is typically used by the Humanities
  • APA style is often used by Education and Psychology
  • Chicago/Turabian is generally used by History, Business, and some of the Fine Arts

Check with your professor to make sure you use the required style. And whatever style you choose, BE CONSISTENT!

 

Citation Resources in the Beam Library

Cover Art
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers 7th Edition
Call Number: LB2369 G53 2009
ISBN: 1603290257
This book is available in the reference section, on reserve and at the reference librarian's desk. The authoritative style manual for anyone writing in the field of psychology. Chapters discuss the content and organization of a manuscript, writing style, the American Psychological Association style, proofreading, and examples of citing references.

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: BF76.7 P83 2010
ISBN: 1433805596
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
This book is available in the stacks, in reference, on reserve and at the reference desk. There is also a supplemental manual for electronic resources. This handbook is intended as an aid for university students, especially beginning researchers. It includes information on selecting and researching a topic; note taking; and writing footnotes and bibliographies. Sample research pages are presented.

Cover Art
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Seventh Edition: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers
Call Number: LB2369 T8 2007
ISBN: 0226823377
This book is available in the reference section, on reserve and at the reference librarian's desk. The dissertation secretary at Chicago for decades, Kate Turabian literally wrote the book on the successful completion and submission of the student paper. Now, with this seventh edition, Turabian’s Manual has undergone its most extensive revision, ensuring that it will remain the most valuable handbook for writers at every level—from first-year undergraduates, to dissertation writers apprehensively submitting final manuscripts, to senior scholars who may be old hands at research and writing but less familiar with new media citation styles.

Need Help?

Profile Image
Beam Library Reference Librarians
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
(405) 294-5025
Send a text with your question and a librarian will text back as soon as possible.
Send Email
 

Follow us on Twitter

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip